卧室制作人博客:HoRNet Valvola Is A FREE Vacuum Tube Amp Simulator

HoRNet Plugins has released a new vacuum tube amp simulator, the Valvola, and it’s absolutely FREE! Simply head to their website, create an account, and download the plugin.

As a guitarist myself, I knew I had to take this free amp sim for a spin (and believe me, I’ve tried them all!). And I was pleasantly surprised – pair this with a decent distortion pedal (like this FREE Klone sim) and a good cab sim, and you can get incredibly authentic tube-like tones.

Valvola can emulate any of the most commonly used guitar amplifier vacuum tubes, a total of seven different types. You can emulate both 12AX7 for a preamp and EL84 for a power amp by using multiple instances on the same track, making it possible to try out any mix of preamp and power amp conceivable.

Valvola’s tube emulation boils down to both the individual frequency responses of the different vacuum tubes and their tendency to behave differently for different frequency ranges

Tubes produce more significant distortion with lower frequencies, and Valvola completely nails this effect. The emulation also considers the biasing of the vacuum tubes and the surrounding circuit for a very authentic feel.

The UI in Valvola consists of a minimal number of controls. In fact, there is only one knob. You choose the name of the vacuum tube from a dropdown list, there is a save and load button for presets and an indicator for the ‘Saturation’ attribute that the knob controls.

The ‘Saturation’ attribute controls the distortion but keeps the output level the same. This gives you the option of increasing distortion without increasing the gain. Keeping gain down keeps the aliasing in control. This is achieved by the 4K oversampling and some intelligent software engineering.